Memphis Zoo Ambush Monkeys Revisited

Yeah, I went there. I thought I would see if I could walk through the Primate section. I couldn’t, but I took careful note of the ambush monkeys.

1) The Cat House Cafe ambush monkeys are white-cheeked gibbons, not siamangs. When I glanced over to read their sign, three or four of them were crammed into the Cafe window smashing their flat faces against it and watching people eat. GAAH! How can you sit there and eat like that?

2) In the China exhibit, the monkeys found near the small-clawed otters are likewise white-cheeked gibbons. There’s the nice big pond. Go straight=koi and Mandarin ducks. Go left=MONKEYS, then adorable little otters you can sometimes watch getting fed; nevertheless, MONKEYS.

3) Likewise in the China exhibit, the Francois lang…things are after the pandas. They are in a big glass box on your left. If it’s cold, and you’re lucky, as I was, the glass will be entirely fogged up and you won’t see a thing.

Something obvious I Just Figured Out: If you take an umbrella to the zoo and tip it just so, you can avoid looking at things you don’t want to see. Nice!

About Snarkurchin

I snark.
This entry was posted in Ambush Monkeys. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment